PNG_SThe NEACOP has for a number of year’s evaluated police departments throughout the six New England States for their efforts in community police. This was originally a work of the New England Community Policing Organization, but that agency ceased to exist several years ago.

The NEACOP aware of how important community policing is, especially in the New England states, decided to take on this process and continue to recognize the best agencies in our region. The award is not given for a program, but rather the entire agencies efforts in achieving a successful community policing program. The agency and its members have embraced a community policing policy that is present in its work and interaction with the community.

The NEACOP has a committee of recognized Police Chiefs in Community policing and academics at Roger Williams University, RI and Norwich University that scrutinize each applicant to decide on awarding those that are the best. The committee is limited to three awards, but will limit it further, if they feel that that fewer have reached the goals they set.

Chief Daley Presenting award to Chief Leonard

NEACOP 2020 President Pat Daly presenting Chief Mark Leonard, Veazie Maine Police Department with a 2020 Community Policing Award.

Congratulations to this year’s First Place Winners:
Law Enforcement in communities under 15,000
Veazie, Maine
Chief Mark Leonard

Law Enforcement in communities over 50,000
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Chief Roy Vasque

Four uniformed police officers accepting award

Representing officers from the Lawrence Police Department accepting the 2020 Community Policing Award.

There were only two categories out of the four that we received applications for, those being the 15000 and under and the 50,000 and over. The applications were reviewed by seven different people and the averages taken from those people.

In the Under 15,000 category there was only 3.71 points separating the first and third place departments.
In the 50,000 and over there was only .85 points separating the top two.

Honorable mention are the following police Departments:
15,000 and under: Thornton NH PD and Barre Ma PD
50,000 and over Lowell Ma PD.

Congratulations for a job well done by all!

View the Official Press Release here: 2019 NEACOP Community Policing Awards

The New England Association of Chiefs of Police is proud of their efforts and they deserve the accolades that are due them for this achievement.

If there are any questions on these agencies or our Community Policing awards please contact Chief Kevin Schofield, Wyndham Maine, Police Department.